Summer 2013 Fansub Comparison Reviews

So yeah… I decided to start these again.
Delayed simulcast series will be reviewed first. Please let me know if any group is using original translations for simulcast shows.

I will not be reviewing low quality moe/ecchi shows.

*I noticed that the images of some older posts aren’t working. Everything will be fixed when we change web host next week.

Details on the grading scheme, perceived difficulty, and liberal scale (LS): Grading Scheme v2
Definitions of “good translation” and “best practices”: Fan Translation Guide

 

Summer 2013

Stella Jogakuin Koutouka C3-bu

Stella Jogakuin Koutouka C3-bu

Difficulty = 3; Technicals *Updated July 18, 2013
Commie B, LS-5
Major mistakes 2
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B
Flow B
Nuance B-
Very average release on pretty much every aspect.
Anime-Koi B, LS-4
Major mistakes 2
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B-
Flow B
Nuance C+
Not very impressed given how easy this series is to translate, but usable.
Vivid B+, LS-6
Major mistakes 0
Minor mistakes Moderate
Accuracy B
Flow A-
Nuance A-
As a translator, I felt very uncomfortable reading these subs because a lot of details were translated or interpreted differently than exactly what was being said, but it gets all the key points across (I did not find anything there serious enough to be considered a major mistake). Flows extremely well.
Crunchyroll (HorribleSubs) B+, LS-4
Major mistakes 1
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B+
Flow B+
Nuance B+
No major complaints. Pretty easy to read and relatively accurate. The translation is a bit too conservative and gets dodgy for lines that are hard to translate.

Danganronpa

Dangan

Difficulty = 5; Technicals *Updated July 18, 2013
UTW B, LS-4
Major mistakes 2
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B+
Flow B
Nuance B+
I liked their word choices like “Super Duper High School” a lot more than FUNi’s “Super High School-Level” and “steel” over “iron” etc, but some lines seemed a bit too lengthy for their allotted time.
FUNimation (HorribleSubs) B, LS-3
Major mistakes 1
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B
Flow B+
Nuance B-
Pretty accurate and concise, but translation feels a bit lazy at times and seems to have taken the easy way out every single time at the expense of detail.

Watamote

watamote

Difficulty = 8; Technicals *Updated July 19, 2013
FTW B+, LS-5
Major mistakes 0
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy B
Flow A-
Nuance B+
The main character sounds a lot more natural as an angry/jealous high schooler than CR.
Crunchyroll (HorribleSubs) B, LS-3
Major mistakes 0
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy B
Flow B
Nuance C+
The translation doesn’t fully capture the main character’s personality as well. Many lines are toned down or simplified a bit, but overall pretty accurate.
t4w D-, LS-2
Major mistakes 4
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy D+
Flow F
Nuance C-
Awful. I doubt the translator really even speaks Japanese, and it was so poorly edited that some lines barely made sense in English.

Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi

kaminai

Difficulty = 5; Technicals *Updated July 20, 2013
Vivid B, LS-4
Major mistakes 2
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B-
Flow B
Nuance B+
Some translation errors on the first 5 minutes, where the only hard to translate lines were. Overall, a decent release.
FLag C+, LS-3
Major mistakes 2
Minor mistakes Moderate
Accuracy C+
Flow B-
Nuance C+
Some really silly mistakes and many lines were not phrased all that well.
Crunchyroll (HorribleSubs) A-, LS-4
Major mistakes 0
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy A-
Flow A
Nuance B
The clear choice for this show. I personally didn’t like the way villagers talked, but pretty much everything clicked and there were no major translation errors.

40 Thoughts on “Summer 2013 Fansub Comparison Reviews

  1. dreamer2908 on August 7, 2013 at 9:48 pm said:

    I thought you’re dead. O_o

  2. FalseDawn on August 8, 2013 at 6:19 am said:

    Are you going to check out any more series this season, 8th?

    There are a few decent ones – Silver Spoon and The Eccentric Family, and some better moe ones in The Going Home Club and (at a push) Kiniro Mosaic (which is slightly funny at times). Might be worth checking out.

    • Yeah, Uchouten Kazoku is fantastic.

    • Xythar on August 8, 2013 at 11:52 pm said:

      We’ve had to edit CR for the last few episodes of Uchouten at Vivid (4-5 and most likely 6 as well) due to vale’s unavailability (unavaleability?) but we are also TLCing the script, so I think it’s still a significant improvement on CR. Hoping to go back to original translations from episode 7 onward, but I’m not certain what the plan is yet.

  3. the_architect on August 14, 2013 at 12:25 pm said:

    Glad to see you back!

  4. Fujiri on August 16, 2013 at 4:14 am said:

    Oh 8thSin was revived! Great news!

  5. So is this all the reviews we get for this season?

  6. Anon-chan on September 15, 2013 at 11:57 pm said:

    Thank you for doing this for us all, look forward to seeing the same next season! Cheers again!

  7. Very glad you started doing these again. I don’t have anything to do with making fansubs, but found that the way to find the best translations to watch is to come here.

    Thank you much for the work you do!!

Comment navigation

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation