Spring 2012 Fansub Comparison Reviews

Recent Updates:

[Commie][Mazui][gg] – Hyouka

[5 Groups] - Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

[Tsumiki][Commie][Hadena] - Acchi Kocchi

[SubDESU][WhyNot][Crunchyroll][FFFine] - Medaka Box

[gg][NowWeTheChefs] - Jormungand

 


Details on the grading scheme, perceived difficulty, and liberal scale (LS): Grading Scheme v2

*Note: The new grading standards for accuracy have been raised significantly this season compared to previous seasons. B+ is the new A-, B is the new B+, C is the new B-, D is the new C, and F is the new D+. This new grading scheme allows me to differentiate releases with more precision and differentiate two releases that would have been given the same grade under the old grading scheme. Refer to Grading Scheme v2 for more details.

Definitions of “good translation” and “best practices”: Fan Translation Guide

*(Difficulty brackets): Quirk / Wordplay included

*Red: Official subs

*Blue: Fansubs

*Bold: Simulcast / Speed subs (Release within 24 hours of first broadcast)

*([Streamer] Mod): Edit and/or  TLCed official subs.

*”Technicals”: Accuracy grade breakdown.

Spoiler for Review info and help

All release reviews below are Ep 01v1 unless otherwise noted. Everything is rated on the translation alone and how well the subs represent the source language. That is, how well all the translated lines retain the intended meaning, not words, of the original dialog.

It does not account for editing (grammar, sentence structure), typesetting, encode quality etc. unless they affect subs enough to change intended meanings. However, editing, TLC, and QC can affect accuracy and other qualities of translation.

The number of “Minor errors” will be categorized as “0″, “few”, “moderate”, and “many” since I may miss some due to time constraints and some are arguable, so exact number wouldn’t be a good idea.

Supplemental comparisons should be available this season again at http://www.ji-hi.net/ and http://www.whiners.pro/

Only major releases (regularly reach 1k downloads for original translations, 2k downloads for rips) will be reviewed. I will not accept re-reviews for any release with “B-” grade or higher (because that’s already good enough) and series not worth watching again. Re-review requests are only accepted for translator changes.

Spoiler for Banner credits

Accel World - Charbutsu

Eureka Seven Ao - fifthrider

Hyouka - kurosenjou

Jormungand - fifthrider

Kore wa Zombie Desuka? Of the Dead - Noel Vermillion

Nazo no Kanojo X - fifthrider

Sankarea - fifthrider

Tsuritama – ??? (sorry, the comments were lost during recovery)

Uchuu Kyoudai - SeaBiscuit

ZETMAN – Hums

Also thanks to everyone else who contributed!

Spring 2012

Accel World

I can easily give myself A- grade for the UTW release, but all groups had more time than usual to translate this episode (pre-air for Ep1 and 2), so reviewing now wouldn’t reflect the appropriate grades in the long run. There is also the simulcast situation that may “change” translators for other groups. On hold until at least Ep3.

Acchi Kocchi

Difficulty = 6; Technicals *Updated April 17, 2012
Tsumiki B, LS-4
Major mistakes ~2
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy C+
Flow B+
Nuance A-

Editing

Some of the “minor mistakes” were nitpick tier, and the script was easy to read and it was funny..I would go with this release.
Commie B-, LS-5
Major mistakes ~2
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy C+
Flow B
Nuance B

Editing

Some lines were very awkwardly phrased or stiff. They handled some lines very well, and accuracy was decent..Watchable.
Shinbunbu-Hadena C, LS-3
Major mistakes ~4
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy D+
Flow C+
Nuance C

Editing

Really stiff, and misses the jokes. Most of their errors weren’t that major, but there were lots of it..There’s no reason to watch this unless they release first.

Hyouka

*Due to the difficulty of this show (too much talking and lack of context) and possibly my nitpicking, the grading scheme was tweaked to calculate Accuracy grades for this series.

Difficulty = 9; Technicals *Updated April 25, 2012
Commie C-, LS-7
Major mistakes 5
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy D-
Flow B-
Nuance B-

Editing

I’m pretty impressed this script was created for such a fast release.There’s way too many errors to fully understand everything being said, but they did have a lot of quality lines. Some lines were way too long, and short (none?) lead in and outs for timing definitely didn’t help its readability.

This show, like Mawaru Penguindrum, should be very carefully translated so that important metaphors and themes aren’t lost IMO.

Mazui C-, LS-4
Major mistakes 3
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy D
Flow C-
Nuance B

Editing

I heard three translators worked on this release. As expected, it’s a very uneven script, and relatively many errors in first half of the script.There were also many very awkwardly phrased lines, including the final error that resulted in a troll-like line. However, it was a lot better than I expected after seeing all those comments and reviews. There were some lines they translated the best as well.

Overall, I don’t think they interpreted key lines well enough to be fully understood though.

gg B-, LS-5
Major mistakes 1
Minor mistakes Moderate
Accuracy B-
Flow B-
Nuance B+

Editing

I thought I struggled a lot in this episode due to sleep deprivation, but judging by the number of errors made by other groups, it was a very difficult show to translate. I’m a bit disappointed by typos and some parts of the dialog skipped too.We will make a v2 for Ep1, but we hope to release faster from now on, so these minor errors may persist until I get a feel for this show.

Jormungand

Difficulty = 8; Technicals *Updated April 12, 2012
gg B, LS-7
Major mistakes 3
Minor mistakes Moderate
Accuracy C+
Flow A-
Nuance B+

Editing

The new Difficultyratings really have a huge effect on grades now that I revamped it, as well as raised grading standards. The translation quality for this release was actually decent..It was extremely well edited (in the sense of improving flow and nuance), and there were tons of great lines.Some mistakes were present, but that’s to be expected for a show of  this difficulty level.
NowWeTheChefs (v2) F+, LS-4
Major mistakes ~10
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy F
Flow D
Nuance D-

Editing

Hardsub-only encode in 2012 from what seems like a scanlation group. As I expected, their sub quality is terrible like one of those ancient fansub releases too.They messed up the very first line, and I would’ve probably rewrote the entire script if I was TLCing this release.

Terrible English, bunch of context and misc. translation errors, attempted creativity but getting the lines completely wrong and neglected other lines, timing errors everywhere, encodes look worse than what I can probably produce with default 2-pass settings. Avoid like the plague.

*Note: Don’t bother asking about [st0ned] release. That is a re-encode group, and they used [gg] subs.

Kore wa Zombie Desuka? Of the Dead

Difficulty = 5; Technicals *Updated April 10, 2012
Hadena ?, LS-?
Major mistakes ?
Minor mistakes ?
Accuracy ?
Flow ?
Nuance ?

Editing

They gamed the system with Brave 10 last season by using a temporary translator last time.I scanned through their subs and it seems to be in the B- to C+ range, but I’m withholding this review until I clear my queue and more episodes are released.Ep1 was decent, but I would not trust their future releases at this point.
Commie B+, LS-8
Major mistakes 0
Minor mistakes Moderate
Accuracy B
Flow B+
Nuance B

Editing

The translation for this release is solid, and I liked clever terminologies like “Magiclad”.There is a few interesting liberal interpretations, but most of them worked very well.

 

A couple of qualms from me, but overall the sub quality is very good.

Doki-AFFTW D-, LS-3
Major mistakes 5
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy F+
Flow D
Nuance D

Editing

“F+” would’ve been a “D” on my old grading scheme, but it’s apparent the translator’s Japanese is pretty poor.There were quite a few idiom usages, but overall LS level is low due to a lot of stiff lines that were dictionary translations that were extremely awkward sounding.

The funniest part of this release is that they used Hadena release to TLC but still managed to be far worse (Doki line in next Ep preview vs Hadena line. Accurate translations would’ve been “How was onii-chan’s performance today?” or “What did you think of onii-chan in action today?” That mistake is not even close to anything you can mishear for). Also this screenshot courtesy of Xythar lol

Hatsuyuki B, LS-6
Major mistakes 1
Minor mistakes Moderate
Accuracy B
Flow A-
Nuance C-

Editing

The translation in this release is quite accurate, and surprisingly, it’s even more well-flowing than Commie, but nuance was absolutely horrible with things like “Great Fairy” instead of “Little Fairy” for “Fairy-san”, “Yuu” instead “Eu” (her full name is “Eucliwood”), and a bunch of poor word choices.

It seems to be more polished (assuming editing wasn’t what caused poor nuance), but I’m preferring Commie a bit more at this point. Can’t really go too wrong with this release though.

Medaka Box

Difficulty = 8; Technicals *Updated April 15, 2012
SubDESU F, LS-7
Major mistakes ~20
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy F-
Flow C
Nuance D+

Editing

Medaka Box may be an ecchi action anime, but it’s still a difficult anime to translate. This show is far beyond this translator’s capability, and the script turned into guesslation every time the dialog got too hard.

Creativity is good, but it should only be exercised after sufficient understanding of the source language/lines.Avoid this release.

WhyNot D+, LS-5
Major mistakes 5
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy D+
Flow C
Nuance D+

Editing

The translation for this release could’ve been considered to be “decent” if it was for any other show, but NishioishiN adaptations require off-the-chart story comprehension skills to translate because it’s necessary to understand the meaning behind what it actually being said under limited context.

There were nicely phrased lines here and there, but ultimately, this release failed to deliver. It’s worth waiting few hours for the CR release.

Crunchyroll B-, LS-6
Major mistakes 2
Minor mistakes Moderate
Accuracy B-
Flow A-
Nuance B-

Editing

Their simplification is a bit too much for my tastes (they need timers who know what they’re doing so their translators have sufficient text length for each line), but there was a couple of extremely well-executed, well-interpreted lines to cover for it.

This is easily the release to pick if you want to know what’s actually being said in this show.

FFFine D-, LS-5
Major mistakes ~9
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy D-
Flow C
Nuance F+

Editing

The translation for Ep1 was very poor, and some of the lines were suspiciously similar to SubDESU release. I also don’t know how they can make such an elementary mistake of translating “kisama” as “you lowlifes” for every single instance even though it totally destroyed the nuance in context.

They’re using CR subs starting Ep2, but I question any of these groups’ ability to properly improve what CR had.

Nazo no Kanojo X

Difficulty = 2; Technicals *Updated April 11, 2012
SubDESU B, LS-3
Major mistakes 0
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B+
Flow C
Nuance B

Editing

This is an easy show to translate, but I wasn’t expecting SubDESU to be able translate this well.Retention of Japanese sentence structure in a lot of lines was annoying, and perhaps “shit” used in not-so-harsh lines, but otherwise there wasn’t really anything wrong with it.
GotSpeed B, LS-4
Major mistakes 0
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B+
Flow B
Nuance B-

Editing

Very uneven script. Some lines were best translated out of three available releases so far, but some were really awkward lines.
IB B, LS-6
Major mistakes 1
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B
Flow B+
Nuance B+

Editing

This release had the overall best script out of the three groups, but the major mistake was a possible context error, and there were quite a few lines I wasn’t sure if it was over-interpretation or misunderstood context (but still worked).

I consider “Accuracy” to be the most important aspect even for easy drama/mystery series, so this is a tough call. Pick this group if you have high risk tolerance, pick whoever releases first if you’re not.

Crunchyroll A, LS-5
Major mistakes 0
Minor mistakes 0
Accuracy A
Flow A
Nuance A-

Editing

This is an easy show to translate, but watching this release gave me goosebumps because most lines were handled exactly the way I would’ve, if I was translating this series professionally/conservatively.Other than 3 or 4 text-length issues caused by major timing errors and a few negligible/preferential changes I might have made, the translation from CR is as good as one can expect for this show.

Sankarea

Difficulty = 4; Technicals *Updated April 7, 2012
Commie C-, LS-8
Major mistakes 7
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy D-
Flow B
Nuance B+

Editing

“D-” would’ve been “C-” in my old grading scheme.There is a lot of misinterpretations in this release, but the accurate lines were translated very well.I’m not sure if they will rip and edit official subs starting next week, but their original translations for this series can’t really be trusted.
SFW C+, LS-7
Major mistakes 1
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy C
Flow B-
Nuance C

Editing

This release also has many mistakes, but they were less severe than ones seen in Commie.The nuance was significantly worse, and I wasn’t impressed with “bullshit” etc when the tone was nowhere even close to that harsh in context.

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

Difficulty = 6; Technicals *Updated April 19, 2012
UTW-Underwater B+, LS-6
Major mistakes 1
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy A-
Flow B
Nuance B+

Editing

Most accurate release here, but I was really uncomfortable with the first half. Everything was interpreted differently as I would have lolThe second half was really well done, and overall, I think it’s evenly matched with CR translation for this show.
WhyNot C, LS-2
Major mistakes 3
Minor mistakes Moderate
Accuracy C+
Flow D-
Nuance C+

Editing

There were some interpretation errors, but it’s watchable. However, it feels like they never edited it. There’s some serious Engrish like “it can’t be helped”, and “For you to wander into a place like this” for “I can’t believe you wandered in here.”Not recommended.
Crunchyroll B, LS-5
Major mistakes 2
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B-
Flow B+
Nuance A-

Editing

There were some mistakes in select lines, but other lines clicked really well for me. This would’ve been a solid release if they learned to time because I’m pretty sure there are a lot of excessive character per duration lines that were hard to read.
Hadena C-, LS-8
Major mistakes ~6
Minor mistakes Many
Accuracy D+
Flow A-
Nuance B-

Editing

Base translation for this release was probably average. I was really impressed with the editing in this release (they had some best lines out of all releases), but heavy editing is a double-edged sword. There were few over-interpretations that completely changed the meaning of what was actually being said. The end result is really bad translation that can fool non-Japanese speakers.Not recommended.
Commie B+, LS-8
Major mistakes 0
Minor mistakes Moderate
Accuracy B
Flow B+
Nuance B+

Editing

Two major mistakes from CR were fixed. A few English derps from CR was fixed, but there was a lot of edits that didn’t improve the lines.Can’t really go wrong with any of the three B-ranged releases.

Uchuu Kyoudai

Difficulty = 4; Technicals *Updated April 4, 2012
Crunchyroll B, LS-5
Major mistakes 1
Minor mistakes Moderate
Accuracy B-
Flow A
Nuance C

Editing

Very good language, flow, consistency, and character nuance, but the translation here is extremely dodgey. A lot of details were missing or simplified for the sake of flow.
Group_name G+, LS-0
Major mistakes #
Minor mistakes #
Accuracy G
Flow G
Nuance G

Editing

Comments

ZETMAN

Difficulty = 5; Technicals *Updated April 4, 2012
SFW (Viz Mod) B+, LS-6
Major mistakes 1
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B+
Flow A
Nuance B

Editing

I can’t watch Viz stream from where I live, but judging from subs from all three groups, the base translation was extremelystrong. In fact, I had to stop and add “in the name of justice” to my Epic Translations List. However, the base translation appeared to focus a bit too much on flow and nuance was a little bit neglected.SFW release was definitely the most heavily edited of the three, and I liked most of their changes (about 5:3 ratio compared to WhyNot). The language used appeared to sound more natural for lines that seemed better, and nuance was improved in some cases.
WhyNot (Viz Mod) B, LS-5
Major mistakes 1
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B+
Flow A
Nuance C

Editing

Compared with SFW script using diff. This release is relatively similar to SFW‘s release, but it felt a bit stiffer in comparison. Also, there were at least two typos that I detected by looking at the script, which shouldn’t happen when you’re editing a script meant to reduce these kind of errors. Timing for this release was improved over the base script though (more line breaks).Overall, the difference compared to SFW is negligible, and there shouldn’t be problems with downloading whoever releases first.
Hadena (Viz Mod) B-, LS-5
Major mistakes 1
Minor mistakes Few
Accuracy B+
Flow B
Nuance C

Editing

Compared with WhyNot‘s script using diff. There’s some weird things in script like using 3 lower case “L”s “I’ll”, random capitalization of words, and other weird English errors. There’s really no point downloading from the slowest RipEdit group with inferior subs.

285 Thoughts on “Spring 2012 Fansub Comparison Reviews

  1. mate your all talk

  2. meganesuki on May 30, 2012 at 5:10 am said:

    I don’t see Doki in Sankarea or Zetman… Any reason you left them out of your review?

  3. Hi!

    Can you please tell me where can I find/download “Nazo no Kanojo X” from crunchyroll ? I’ve been on the site “.crunchyroll.com” but I can’t really find it. Thank you and excuse my bad english.

    • They have it under ‘Mysterious Girlfriend X’. As a quick note, things like that should probably be asked in the appropriate place, e.g. the CrunchyRoll forum.

      If you don’t want to stream it from CR, search for HorribleSubs and Mysterious Girlfriend X or click on my name and find your way to the search button.

  4. stale /a/non on June 2, 2012 at 7:21 am said:

    so, for that Accel World review…
    ep3 is long passed, and since we are near the end how about some hints on what to archive?

  5. yeller on June 6, 2012 at 11:41 pm said:

    My question is… why does this guy claim Commie’s translation of Acchi Kocchi is so much better while you say they’re about the same as Tsukimi but commie is “stiffer”?

    http://notredreviews.wordpress.com/spring-2012-reviews/#acchi

    Considering under the “who we are” tab, they are all part of Commie… it makes me wonder if they aren’t just biased.

    • Xythar on June 7, 2012 at 7:12 pm said:

      It’s possible for different people to have different opinions, you know. Watch both releases and decide for yourself if you’re not sure.

      Alternatively you could try, you know, reading the actual reasons they put forth in their reviews for making the judgments they did.

      • yeller on June 7, 2012 at 9:35 pm said:

        I did read their reasons, but it doesn’t mean that they weren’t covering up other mistakes they themselves made.

        • Xythar on June 7, 2012 at 9:41 pm said:

          Neither 8thSin nor valerauko (who writes the translation reviews for NRR) were involved in any group’s Acchi Kocchi release. Your insinuations make no sense.

          For what it’s worth, my opinion is that both releases are fine and you should go with whichever one you like better.

  6. Oneman on June 7, 2012 at 9:50 am said:

    “it makes me wonder if they aren’t just biased.”

    It’s pretty obvious how biased they are. Just look at the grades they give themselves.

    I guess they started that site because other reviewers weren’t sucking on their dicks the way they wanted to. Oh well.

  7. ChibiWing on June 30, 2012 at 4:06 pm said:

    Are the review for Accel World going to be done soon cause it almost the beginning of the next season ?

    • 8thSin on July 1, 2012 at 6:27 pm said:

      Yes. I kind of lost interest in that (the past 2 episodes were really bad), and I should be using the time to finish stalled projects.

  8. derp on July 8, 2012 at 7:42 pm said:

    >implying the Spring shows will ever finished being reviewed
    >implying you’re going to do Summer either

  9. Wingless on July 10, 2012 at 2:27 pm said:

    What shows will you be reviewing for the Summer season?
    And when will you start actually reviewing them?

Comment navigation

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation